The Library Module will introduce you to the basics of college-level research. The skills you learn during the module will help you for two main reasons:
By the time you finish the Library Module, you will be able to:
Useful tools
The expectations for classroom behavior are the same as for Professor Douglass' portion of the class with these specific addenda:
ALL ASSIGNMENTS SUBMITTED IN WEBCT ARE DUE BEFORE START OF NEXT CLASS MEETING UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED!
Academic honesty is expected as standard behavior in the university environment.
Grading rubric for the library module
| In Class Activities/short quizzes | 26 pts |
| Homework | 54 pts |
| Quiz | 30 pts |
| Annotated Bibliography (see Rubric and Model) | 40 pts |
| Total | 150 points |
Note: The Office of Disabled Student Services provides a variety of services and resources to students. Students with disabilities should contact me immediately to ensure appropriate accommodations are made during the Library Module.
After today's meeting
Rubric and Model links for the Annotated Bibliography
An annotation is a brief summary of a book, article, or other publication. Its purpose is to describe the work in such a way that the reader can decide whether or not to read the work itself.
Annotations often appear as part of a bibliography, the list of sources that is standard in scholarly books and articles, including most student papers.
When a bibliography includes annotations it is known as an annotated bibliography.
These are 6 points to help you write your annotated bibliography (not necessarily in this order):
1. What are the qualifications of the author?
2. What is the main purpose of the text? (summarize in one or two sentences)
3. How does this source relate to your topic?
4. What is the viewpoint or bias of the author?
5. Who is the intended audience of this work?
6. What is your final comment on this work?
Basically, keep it short and straightforward by using the 6 points above (from GEL Text, Part I, p. 106).
Checklist for the GEL Annotated Bibliography Assignment
Four sources: one from each of the following categories: Scholarly article, Book or Book Chapter, Media, and Popular Press Article. Credit will not be given on items that duplicate a category (e.g., no credit for a second youtube site.)
APA citation format, using the 2009 6th edition of The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Annotation paragraph for each citation as demonstrated in the model below and covering the points in the Rubric for authority, summary, and usefulness to your research.
Grammatically correct.
From your own Internet searching, you probably realize there is an overwhelming amount of information available online. You might feel comfortable searching online-- but doing a Google search and using the first few results for your paper does not constitute college research!
Anyone can put up a website. How do you know that its information is accurate, legitimate or current? Refer to the Custom text, pp. 102 before choosing to include the information you find in your research project.
Ask yourself these questions as if you are reading someone else's paper in order to grade it and are reviewing the bibliography and find websites listed:
1. Who made this site?
2. What is its purpose?
3. Where does the information come from?
4. How current is the website?
If you cannot answer these questions or the answers are weak, it is best to find other sources of information.
This guide was created using Library à la Carte.
Library à la Carte is developed by the Oregon State University Libraries and is distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License.