MODULE DESCRIPTION- The Library Module will introduce you to the basics of college-level research. MODULE OBJECTIVES- 1. Use a research topic to find scholarly research 2. Planning a research project - organization of information 3. Finding and evaluating information on the web 4. Finding and evaluating background information 5. Finding and evaluating current research in scholarly and professional journals. 6. Documenting and citing your source of information WHAT TO EXPECT-- Each session will go over aspects of college level research strategies. You can expect some demonstration and discussion, lots of hands-on activities with library resources and materials. You will be learning how to plan and do research for your course project. By the end of the module you will have completed an annotated bibliography and show what you have learned by taking a quiz.
The skills you learn during the module will help you for 2 main reasons: Specifically, for the projects and presentation you will do in this class. In general, for the papers and projects you will be expected to do for the rest of your college career. You will gain the ability to identify what you need, access, evaluate, and communicate information effectively.
Note: The Office of Disabled Student Services provides a variety of services and resources to students. Students with disabilities should contact me immediately to ensure appropriate accommodations are made during the Library Module.
Be on time for class. Attendance will be taken at the beginning of the class period. Late work is worth 0. Plagiarized work is worth zero (0) points and may be referred to the Dean of Students. When in doubt ASK A LIBRARIAN FIRST!
Daily topics may be subject to change as the module progresses so it is important that you attend class regularly. You are responsible for any missed material or content.
You must notify me in advance or immediately of any absences.
|
GRADING-
There are 6 classroom sessions plus outside work and a final quiz.
|
POINT DISTRIBUTION Participation 40 pts Library Research Report 50 pts Total 150 pts |
|
Date |
Topic / Activity |
Homework: |
|
Week 1 |
Sept 21, 23 |
|
|
MW KEL 2303 |
Monday: What is an Annotated Bibliography and how does it fit into my final course project In class: Narrow a topic. Locating background information on your topic. Specialized encyclopedias, books, essays. Wednesday: Advanced web search and evaluating web sites. In class: Evaluting websites |
Due Wednesday Sept 23 1. Clue Module (10) Complete Clue Module online tutorial. Must get 4 out of 5 (805) for a passing score. Print out score and bring to class. Read CQ Researcher essays and locate signficant websites of interest, use quality checklist.
|
|
Date |
Topic / Activity |
Homework: |
|
Week 2 |
Sept 28, 30 |
|
|
MW KEL 2303
|
Monday -- Popular vs scholarly In class--Rating a scholarly article
Wednesday - News and specialized databases In class activity: Advanced search, critical analysis |
Due Monday Sept 28 Assignment 2 (10) Background info.
Due Wednesday Sept 30: Assignment 3 (10) Scholarly article rating and CRITICAL ANNOTATION TEMPLATE for scholarly article |
|
Week 3 |
October 7, 9 |
|
|
WF: KEL 2303
|
Wednesday: Advanced search strategies Friday |
Due Wednesday Oct 7 Due Friday Oct 9 Annotated Bibliography (50) |
Annotated Bibliography -- 50 points
You are gathering information for your semester project. The report is a list of each title, cited in proper APA format, and a well written paragraph for each citation that addresses the criteria of a critical annotation. The library module requires that you follow the format described below exactly.
This is individual work
|
MUST INCLUDE |
QUALITY CRITERIA |
50 points total |
|
Topic Title- Change Issues Research
|
Title includes keywords, and major concepts |
|
|
Thesis statement and summary (who,what,where,how,why)
|
Thoroughness of thesis statement. Relevance of each item in bibliography to support and add to your knowledge of the topic. |
5 |
|
One citation from a book, chapter or essay in a book. From CQ Researcher or other topic approved by your professor. Annotate, and cite in APA format. Must be from CSUSM library. Attach copy of first page
|
Relevance to topic, accuracy of citation, quality of annotation. |
10 |
|
One scholarly article (APA format) with annotation, copy of first page of article attached. Must be from CSUSM library research database. Attach copy of first page
|
Relevance to topic, accuracy of citation, quality of annotation. Must score 9 or above on the article rating sheet. |
10
|
|
One substantive popular or professional article. Attach copy of first page |
Relevance to topic, accuracy of citation, quality of annotation. |
10 |
|
One credible website (APA format) with critical evaluation, copy of first page of website attached.
|
Quality of website chosen, relevance to topic, accuracy of citation, quality of annotation |
10 |
|
Professional presentation of paper |
quality, grammar, accuracy etc |
5 |
Last Update: 14 Oct 11:31 | Tagged with: GEL 101
This guide was created using Library à la Carte.
Library à la Carte is developed by the Oregon State University Libraries and is distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License.