Go To Screenreader Version

Guide to Kinesiology Resources

Finding journal articles in kinesiology

Journal articles are where you will find empirical studies, literature reviews, meta-analysis, and other types of scholarly communication. In order to search through the scientific literature, specialized search engines have been created to be finding tools.

 

PubMed is the primary search enginge to find research literature in Kinesiology.
Below are three short video clips that introduce you to this complex database.

 

Accessing PubMed

Identifying search terms

Getting relevant search results

Most Useful

PubMed @ CSUSM
The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.
Coverage: 1966→current

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides abstracts for articles from 1,700 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982→current

Biological Abstracts
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
Coverage: 1969→current

ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
Coverage: 1995→current

Wiley Interscience
Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and m
Coverage: 1996→current

Also Useful

American Chemical Society
Access to full text articles from more than 30 journals of the American Chemical Society
Coverage: 1879→current

Agricola
The authoritative database on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines; includes abstracts for books & journals.
Coverage: 1500→current

Proceedings
Abstracts from conference proceedings worldwide
Coverage: 1993→current

Last Update: 11 Mar 13:27