A scholarly journal is a periodical written for an audience of professionals/researchers in a particular field. These journals contain scholarly articles.
A professional/researcher relies on these publications in order to understand what is being studied in their discipline, and when developing and conducting their own research.As a student, part of your job is to learn about what is being currently studied and learn how original research is conducted.
PsycINFO
Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
Coverage: 1887→currentSociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
Coverage: 1963→currentSocial Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Coverage: 1980→currentERIC
A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.
Coverage: 1966→currentCINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides abstracts for articles from 1,700 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982→current
PAIS
An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.
Coverage: 1972→currentChild Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption Database
Includes abstracts and citations from books, journal articles, and other publications regarding the maltreatment of children.
Coverage: 1965→currentChicano Database
Abstracts for books, journal articles and other material about Mexican-Americans.
Coverage: 1900→currentMedlinePlus
A large, encyclopedia-like database with excellent patient information on diseases, conditions, clinical trials, hospitals, and other areas of medicine and dentistry.
Coverage: currentPOPLINE
Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes abstracts from published and unpublished sources all over the world.
Coverage: 1827→current
Last Update: 11 Mar 13:25
This guide was created using Library à la Carte.
Library à la Carte is developed by the Oregon State University Libraries and is distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License.