Biology Research Guide
Biology Reference
These selected reference works and web sites will help you to quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Amphibians
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Birds
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Fishes
- Grzimeks' Animal life encyclopedia, Insects
- Grzimek's Animal life encyclopedia, Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Mammals
- Grzimek's Animal life encyclopedia, Protostomes
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Reptiles
Cooper's comprehensive environmental desk reference
GE123 .C64 1996 REFERENCE
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology
QD415.A25 O94 2000 REFERENCE
Treatise on geochemistry
QE515 .T69 2004 REFERENCE
Table of Contents
A dictionary of biology
QH302.5 .D5 2000 REFERENCE
Magill's survey of science. Life science series
QH307.2 .M34 1991 REFERENCE
Table of Contents
This huge reference work focuses on processes rather than organisms. Each entry has bibliography for further reading.
Encyclopedia of the biosphere
QH343.4 .B5613 2000 REFERENCE
Table of Contents
A dictionary of ecology
QH540.4 .C66 1998 REFERENCE
Encyclopedia of biodiversity
QH541.15 .B56 E53 2001 REFERENCE
Encyclopedia of environmental microbiology
QR100 .B58 2002 REFERENCE
World of microbiology and immunology
Using the biological literature : a practical guide
QH303.6 .D38 2002 REFERENCE
Provides an overview of biological literature, with chapters on information on biochemistry, molecular biology, ecology and other areas of biology.

