Business Legal Resources Guide
Free Federal Business Resources
Internal Revenue Service: IRS.Gov
- The IRS website contains many resources aimed at business owners of all sizes. The Tax Information for Businesses portion of the IRS website contains information on how to file taxes for different portions of business organizations, as well as information on employment taxes and forms necessary for filing business taxes.
- There is also a section of the website made for small businesses in particular. The small business section includes information and instructions on forms needed for filing tax information for small businesses. Further, there is general information on starting a business, business forms, business expenses, employer taxes, starting, operating and closing a business, and other business related information through the A-Z Index for Business.
- The IRS website also includes information for different business entities including corporations, international businesses, and partnerships.
Small Business Administration: SBA.Gov
- SBA.Gov is the official site of the U.S. Small Business Administration. This website comprehensively covers many important areas of information concerning starting a business including sections on: starting a business, registering a business, loans & grants, running a business, and business law.
- Under the Start a Business section, there is helpful information on the basic steps necessary for starting a business, writing a business plan, finding a location for your business, and information discussing the different types of businesses.
- The website also offers a State and Local Business Resources section, which provides helpful information guides for starting a business in the different states.
- There is also an extensive forms section on the website which provides the most commonly needed forms when starting a business and offers descriptions and instructions for filling out the business forms.
- Small Business Administration: Business Law & Regulation
- This website provides basic introductions to the wide variety of laws and legal issues that affect business owners.
- Overall, SBA.Gov provides a good range of information covering most aspects of starting and maintaining a business. It is a useful site that should be a starting place for anyone seeking information about starting a business.
General Free Legal Resources
- Nolo.com
- Cornell Legal Information Institute
- Justia.com
- The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twittterer databases, as well as additional community resources.
- Law Library of Congress: Online sources of legal information on government & law by U.S. state, country, or region.
- State of California compiled by the Law Library of Congress
- LLRX.Com- US Law Legal Research
- LLRX.com is the premier free, independent, one person produced Web journal dedicated to providing legal, library, IT, CI, marketing, communications and administrative professionals with the most up-to-date information on a wide range of Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools.
Free Business Legal Resources
- Nolo is a publisher that provides legal information for the non-lawyer. Nolo's website has great information on many topics, including Business Law. The information is arranged into encyclopedia style articles which provide information on a variety of subjects including: the different types of business entities out there and how the organizations of the entities differs, choosing the best ownership structure for your business, and an article listing 50 things you'll need to do when starting your own business. There are also resources for writing a successful business plan.
Cornell Legal Information Institute:Business Law
- This website provides reliable definitions, resources and citations to case law to help one better understand a variety of legal topics including business law. Cornell's Legal Information Institute provides direct links to relevant statutes dealing with business and corporations law in each of the 50 states. This website also provides information and links out to further materials that are important to starting a business under the Business Law section.
Small Business Administration: Business Law & Regulations
- This website provides basic introductions to the wide variety of laws and legal issues that affect business owners.
- This website provides a free legal information on a variety of legal topics in the form of encylcopedia style articles written for non-lawyers.
- The Small Business Center provides information and resources for small business owners, and those entrepreneurs with an idea for a business in mind. You can get information on choosing and forming the right legal structure for your business, legal tips on day-to-day business operations, an overview of employment law issues, and articles in numerous areas of law that affect starting and running a business.
- FindLaw has a variety of other business law content. The links below represent some of the information available
Last Update: 02 May 15:47 | Tagged with: Business Law law

