Journals include some of the latest research in the field. To find articles, you need to start with research databases. They allow you to search hundreds or even thousands of journals at once.
ERIC* A national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education which provides access to both journal articles* and documents* (such as reports, lesson plans and other information) on education-related issues. ERIC has 2 types of information:
*EJ = ERIC Journal Articles
*ED = ERIC Documents
PsychInfo*Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
Sociological Abstracts*Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
Academic Search Premier*This EbscoHost database offers scholarly information in nearly every area of academic study including: education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
* If HTML or PDF documents not available, find full-text by clicking on If the library doesn't have it you can order it through Interlibrary Loan ( 5-10 days delivery).
Find books by searching the Library Catalog. Can't think of terms to describe your topic? Catalogs use specific subject headings to group related books together. A good strategy is to:
- enter a KEYWORD or two
- scan the list for one good item of interest
- click on the SUBJECT HEADINGS for that item
- scan the list of SUBJECT HEADINGS for ones that are of interest
- click on another subject heading to search for more items
Circuit and Other Catalogs
Having trouble finding books in the CSUSM Library catalog? Try searching the Circuit or other catalogs. You can use the same search strategy listed above for "Books at Cal State San Marcos". Remember, you can get almost any book you need from other libraries using Inter-Library Loan.
Useful Call numberThe entire "L" call number group is dedicated to the field of Education. Check the books in the "L" section of any academic library to see their collection of education-related books!
Circuit (1-3 day delivery)
Search the collections of other San Diego area libraries -- about 3,000,000 books. Find and request books directly online; pick them up at our Library in 1-3 days.
WorldCat (5-10 day delivery)
Search the collections of libraries world-wide -- about 52,000,000 books. Find a book in this database, and fill-out an Interlibrary Loan delivery request. Book will be delivered to Library for pickup.
Last Update: 05 Mar 16:18 | Tagged with: Education Subject Guides
This guide was created using Library à la Carte.
Library à la Carte is developed by the Oregon State University Libraries and is distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License.