This page provides guidance to students completing the needs assessment/literature review portion of the grant proposal/program evaluation project. There are also some sources listed that may be of use for the management paper.
Search our library catalog for information sources that will help you describe the problem and articulate that the need exists for your proposed program.
A. Search CSUSM Library
Remember that books will give you an overview of an issue, phenomenon, or population.
B. Find basic information in reference sources
The "Needs Assessment" portion of your grant requires data that illustrate that your program is needed.These are selected sources that may provide basic information; e.g. demographics, statistics, definitions.
U.S. Census: Statistical abstract of the
United States
C 3.134 Gov Docs
(print edition is easier to navigate)
Encyclopedia of aging Encyclopedia of public health Encyclopedia of multicultural America The Gale encyclopedia of psychology Encyclopedia of women and gender
HQ1115 .E53 2001 ReferenceSANDAG
San Diego County's Association of Governments
a collection of San Diego statistics
Directions: a directory of organizations meeting human needs in San Diego County
HV688.S24 D57 ReferenceGale Encyclopedia of multicultural America Encyclopedia of children and childhood Child development Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia Boyhood in America : an encyclopedia Girlhood in America : an encyclopedia Encyclopedia of adult development
BF724.5 .E53 1993 ReferenceStatistical handbook on racial groups in the US
E184 .A1 .H417 2000 ReferenceStatistical record of Hispanic Americans
E184 .S75 S74 1995 ReferenceStatistical record of Asian Americans
E184 .O6 S74 1995 ReferenceStatistical record of Black America
E185.5 S83 1990 ReferenceInfancy in America : an encyclopedia
HQ774 .I528 2001 ReferenceStatistical record of children
HQ792 .U5 s73 1994 ReferenceStatistical handbook on adolescents in America
HQ796 .S8237 1996 ReferenceStatistical handbook on aging Americans
HQ1064 .U5 S695 1996 ReferenceStatistical handbook on women in America
HQ1420 .T34 1996 ReferenceStatistical record of older Americans
HQ1064 .U5 S727 1994 ReferenceEncyclopedia of family life
HQ534 .E53 1999 Reference
C. Find Research Studies
For specific research done on underlying program theories, funding, and program assessment, search the databases below.
Suggested Databases
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Coverage: 1980→current
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
PsycINFO
Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
Coverage: 1887→current
ERIC
A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.
Coverage: 1966→current
PubMed @ CSUSM
The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.
CINAHL
Provides abstracts for articles from 1,700 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health.
Last Update: 17 Sep 12:30
This guide was created using Library à la Carte.
Library à la Carte is developed by the Oregon State University Libraries and is distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License.