Go To Screenreader Version

Guide to Nursing Resources

Getting journal articles

Always try one of the databases listed below before Google-ing a topic.
Click here to learn why.


Click here to learn what to do when it seems you can't get an article.


To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a research database. The following databases provide abstracts of articles from thousands of journals and other sources, often providing full-text.

Most Useful

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides abstracts for articles from 1,700 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982→current

PubMed @ CSUSM
The premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.
Coverage: 1966→current

Also Useful

PsycINFO
Available via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
Coverage: 1887→current

Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
Coverage: 1963→current

Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Coverage: 1980→current

POPLINE
Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes abstracts from published and unpublished sources all over the world.
Coverage: 1827→current

 

Finding systematic reviews
for evidence-based practice

The primary source for systematic reviews is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

          Here's how to search for systematic reviews in CINAHL.

          Here's how to search for systematic reviews in PubMed.

Last Update: 11 Mar 13:27